League of Cities of the Philippines

The League of Cities of the Philippines or LCU is an organization that aims to bring various local urban governance agenda on the top list of the country’s various development strategies. This is a mandated organization of the Philippines which only means that every urban place in the Philippines should be a member. LCP strongly believes that the effectivity of national consciousness and change in the country starts with the aims and primary goals of local government units.

LCP was established on July 25, 1987 when former President Corazon Aquino issued the Executive Order No.262. The first elected president of the organization was the former Quezon City Mayor Brigido R. Simon Jr. while Ruben L. Umali, a former Lipa City Mayor, was elected as the secretary-general. This establishment of the LCP was somewhat significant in the history as it was also the time when LGUs (e.g. barangays, municipalities, cities and provinces and cities) outcried for genuine reforms in the country.

Many years transpired before the Congress passed the Republic Act 7160 which formally institutionalized the LCP to be the organization that will primarily ventilate, articulate and crystallize issues that affect the government administration. The organization consists of 30 National Executive Board officers. There are also secretariat who are jointly handled by the LCP’s two top leaders. Here are the individuals behind the continuing success of the group:

National Chair – Enrico R. Echiverri
National President – Oscar S. Rodriguez
Secretary General – Hernani A. Braganza
National Vice Chair – Paulino Salvador C. Leachon
Executive Vice President – Evelio R. Leonardia
Treasurer – Benjamin S. Lim
Vice President for NCR – Sherwin T. Gatchalian
Vice President for Luzon – Allen G. Singson
Vice President for Visayas – Dan N. Lim
Vice President for Mindanao – Samuel S. Co
Deputy Secretary General for NCR – Del R. De Guzman
Deputy Secretary for Luzon – Benjamin D. Dy
Deputy Secretary for Visayas – Jed Patrick E. Mabilog
Deputy Secretary for General Mindanao – Zara Z. Duterte
Auditor – Abraham N. Tolentino
Public Relations Officer – Edgardo Pamintuan
Deputy P.R.O. For NCR – Herbert Bautista
Deputy P.R.O. For Luzon – Amadeo Gregorio E. Perez IV
Deputy P.R.O. For Visayas – Angel Allan B. Celino
Deputy P.R.O. For Mindanao – Philip T. Tan

The organization deals with numerous national and local issues. In line with this, projects and programs with regards to the environment, management information system, special projects and advocacy, marketing and networking were organized. Provided below is League of Cities of the Philippines’ mission and vision that can also be found on the organization’s main website:


The LCP will serve as the unified voice of cities advocating policies and continuing autonomy; promoting capacity-building and best practice sharing; and strengthening internal and external linkages to lift the nation out of poverty.


By 2016, We, the League of Cities of the Philippines, shall empower all cities to be engines of sustainable development, champions of good urban governance, and catalysts for nation-building committed to the improvement of the quality of life of their constituents.

Disclaimer: This website is not legally connected with the League of Cities of the Philippines in any way. Should the reader seeks to get more information or contact the organization, the contact details provided below will be of great help. Any name, firm, government entity and other organizations were not mentioned in this article or the purpose of promotion, campaign or advertisement. This online page only serves as another information site that readers can look up to regarding the said organization.

League of Cities of the Philippines
7th Floor, Unit J & K, Cyberone Building,
Eastwood Avenue, Brgy. Bagumbayan,
Quezon City, Philippines 1110

Phone Number(s):

Fax Number:


Previous post:

Next post:

Helpful Resources